Master's and Doctoral Track (WER-MDT)

Key Dates

  • Abstract submission: April, 30th, 2023 May 14th, 2023
  • Paper submission: April, 30th, 2023 May 14th, 2023
  • Notification: June 26th, 2023    New!  
  • Camera-ready: July 17th, 2023

Interest Topics

The topics of interest are not exhaustive listed:

  • Requirements elicitation, analysis, and documentation, management, traceability, prioritization, validation, verification, and negotiation;
  • Requirements engineering education and training;
  • Requirements engineering for specific software development paradigms, such as the agent-driven, aspect-driven, model-driven, or service-driven;
  • Requirements engineering for specific fields, such as safety-critical, web-based, or mobile applications systems;
  • Requirements engineering in agile methodologies;
  • Requirements specification languages, methods, processes, and tools;
  • Model-driven software engineering;
  • Regulatory compliance.

Submission Guidelines

All papers must be submitted through the Easychair submission system in PDF only, according to the LNCS format. Submissions must be written in Portuguese, Spanish or English.

Papers should not exceed 7 pages of content for Master's work and 10 pages of content for Doctoral work, formatted according to the LNCS page format.

We recommend, although it is not compulsory, that the research is at an intermediate stage so that experts' suggestions could be included in the MSc and PhD work. The works will receive feedback from the Program Committee with questions and suggestions about its content. The author should use these comments in the preparation of the paper's final version.

During the event, the selected works must be presented by students. On this occasion, they will receive opinions and constructive criticism from a Guest Panel, composed of researchers in the field of Requirements Engineering, as well as the audience.

All accepted papers will be published with Open Access through the WERpapers repository.



  • Master's and Doctoral Track Chairs

    • Fernanda Alencar -- Universidade Federal de Pernambuco - Brasil
    • Victor Santander -- Universidade Estadual do Oeste do Paraná - Brasil

  • Program Committee

    • Aêda Sousa Universidade Federal de Pernambuco
    • Carla Silva Universidade Federal de Pernambuco
    • Henrique Prado de Sá Sousa Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro
    • Isabel Sofia Instituto Politécnico de Beja
    • Ivonei Silva Unioeste
    • João Araujo Universidade NOVA de Lisboa
    • Johnny Marques Instituto Tecnológico de Aeronáutica (ITA)
    • Kadna Camboim UFAPE
    • Karla Donato Fook Instituto Tecnológico de Aeronáutica (ITA)
    • Luiz Eduardo Galvão UNIFESP
    • Marcia Lucena UFRN
    • Patrícia Silva Lessa Universidade Federal de Pernambuco
    • Ricardo Ramos UNIVASF - Universidade Federal do Vale do São Francisco
    • Sidgley Camargo de Andrade Universidade Tecnológica Federal do Paraná
    • Timóteo Silva Universidade de Pernambuco - POLI
    • Vera Werneck Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro – UERJ-IME